Declaration of the Ecclesia Dei Commission

[Original: German]


Rome, 22 July 1988

Reverend Father Bisig,

The Papal Commission, established by the Motu propri Ecclesia Dei of the Holy Father, Pope John Paul II, on July 2nd 1988, has been notified that 12 priests, former members of the Society of Saint Piux X, have resolved, on July 18th 1988 at the Abbey of Hauterive, Canton Fribourg, Switzerland, to found a new priestly fraternity for which they have chosen the name “The Priestly Fraternity of Saint Peter”.

The founding charter was delivered to us, with the request for recognition by the Holy See.

The Papal Commission hereby states its readiness to erect the said Fraternity as a “Society of Apostolic Life” according to the norms of canons 731-746 of the Code of Canon Law, and after an initial review and the necessary recognition of the statutes ad experimentum, to accord at the desired time the status of an institute of pontifical right, according to the Protocol of 5th May 1988 and the said Motu proprio of July 2nd 1988.

We recognize as valid your vote for Superior of the new Fraternity that occurred during the same foundational meeting and which was presented in the same Protocol.  Through our office we sincerely wish you God’s blessing, and the assistance of the Mother of God and the Holy Apostle Peter, that this new Fraternity might grow under your direction, and serve the Good of the Church and Her unity.

With my blessing for you and for your society,

(Signature:  Augustinus Card. Mayer, OSB, President)

(Signature: Camille Perl, Sekretär)

Reverend Father J. Bisig
The Priestly Fraternity of Saint Peter